How to

How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook

How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook

When you don’t want to hear from them anymore.

Nowadays, it’s no surprise that a friend or acquaintance suddenly rattles off on your Facebook feed. This can be triggered by anything from a politician’s tweet to a movie spoiler to the type of mask someone is wearing (or whether they are wearing one at all).

If someone on your Facebook feed has broken what you perceive as a line, then you can use a number of methods to remove their post – or theirs – from view. You can unfriend, block, postpone them (so you won’t see anything from them for 30 days), or simply hide one of their entries. Here is an overview of how to achieve each.

Note: These instructions are for the “new” version of Facebook on your desktop.

Hide post

Let’s say someone you like wrote a rave review about a movie you really hated. Since you are friends, it shows up on your timeline. You really don’t want your other friends to read those erroneous reviews. Do not think about it! It’s easy to hide that one post so it doesn’t appear on your timeline. (Of course, it will still appear in the timeline of the person who wrote it, but there’s nothing you can do about it.)

Just click on the three dots at the top right of the entry. You can hide the post, or “snooze” the person posting for 30 days. You can also unfollow the person, which means that you will no longer see their entries in your timeline, but you will not unfriend them.

1(11)

If you hide a post and then change your mind, you can find it again, although it will take a little while:

  • Click the arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook page
  • Select “Settings & Privacy”> “Activity Log”
  • In the left hand column, find “Filter” (this will be the little blue link in the top right corner of the column) and click on it
  • Scroll down and select “Hidden from the Timeline”. Click “Save Changes”.
  • You will see hidden posts in the left column. Hover over the entry you want to show, click on the three dots, and you should be able to restore it.

2(10)

Unfriend someone

You’ve been friends with someone you think might be nice, but it turns out that their politics or attitude to cat videos or endless posts about unfamiliar horror films are driving you crazy. Hiding the occasional post won’t work for you. You want to be unfriendly to them.

It’s not difficult:

  • Go to their profile (you can click on their profile photo or search for their name)
  • Click the “people” icon (it’s right next to the “Order” button)
  • Select “Unfriend”> “Confirm”

3(9)

According to Facebook, people you unfriend will not be notified that you are not friends with them. However, you are no longer on their friends list, so they may notice that you are leaving. If you change your mind, you’ll need to go through the normal “friendship” process again

Block someone

Sometimes, there is no other way – someone has really offended you, and you don’t want them anywhere, anytime, on your timeline. In that case, it’s time to block them.

If you block someone, they just can’t post on your timeline. They won’t be able to see anything you post on your timeline, tag you, send you invitations, try to befriend you, or start conversations with you. And if you are already friends with them, you will not be friends with them either.

To block someone:

  • Click the arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook page
  • Click “Settings & Privacy”> “Settings”
  • Find and select “Blocking” in the left hand column
  • Look for the “Block user” section in the middle of the page, and type the person’s name – or part of their name – in the “Block user” field.
  • A list will appear with the matching names you typed. Find the person you want to block and click the “Block” button next to their name.

4(7)

If you change your mind, it’s relatively easy to unblock someone – go back to the “Block users” section, and you’ll see a list of all the people you’ve blocked under the “Block users” field. Just click the “Unleash” button next to their name.

Related posts

How to Transfer Your Google Play Music to YouTube Music

Howto

How to Unlock the Nook Shopping Apps on ‘Animal Crossing: New Horizons’

Howto

How to Fax without a Telephone Line

Howto

How to Enlarge the Nintendo Switch When Playing Any Game

Howto

How to Schedule a Zoom Meeting

Howto

How to install an SSD on your PC

Howto

How to Change Your Name in Bumble

Howto

How to Create and Use Many Profiles on Microsoft Edge Like a Pro

Howto

How to Adjust the Ambience of the Room with Smart Lighting

Howto