Whether you type something you immediately regret or accidentally send an email to the wrong person, we explain how to remember Gmail messages.
The option to change your mind after sending an email from Gmail is one of the most useful features to get you out of trouble, and it works both in mobile applications and in desktop web browsers.
Even if you haven’t sent you a message, you should check your Gmail settings now. That’s because Undo Send works only 5 seconds by default and you can increase this to 30 seconds.
Also note that Undo will only appear if you send from a Gmail account: the mobile application allows you to view other e-mail accounts from other providers, but you can only retrieve e-mail when you send it from a Gmail account.
Increase Undo Send Gmail to 30 seconds
You must use a PC or laptop browser to complete this step, because even when you choose to view the Desktop version of Gmail in a mobile browser, you will be shown an older version that does not contain the Undo Send feature.
So on a PC or laptop, launch your web browser and open Gmail. Tap the gear icon in the upper right and select Settings. On the General tab, look for Undo Send. On the right you will see ‘Send cancellation period’, by default set to 5 seconds, but you can press the drop-down menu to change it to 30 seconds. Now scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Save changes.
Keep in mind that if you upgrade this feature to the maximum time period, no email will leave your Outbox until 30 seconds have passed. So, if people complain that the email you just sent hasn’t arrived, this is why.
How to Cancel Gmail Delivery on Android
When you write an email message in the Gmail application on Android and then tap the Send button, you will automatically return to the conversation view.
Look closely at the bottom of the screen: You will see a black bar that says ‘Sent’ on the left, with ‘Undo’ on the right. (Again, remember that this will NOT appear if you send e-mail from a non-Gmail account.)
Tap Undo quickly and you will return to the message composition screen, where you can delete or edit emails as needed.
Stop sending Gmail on a PC or laptop
Remembering Gmail messages on a PC or laptop browser works the same as on Android.
After you press Send, look to the bottom left of the screen for options that say ‘Message sent’, with further options for Canceling or Viewing messages.
Click Stop Send and the message will appear on the screen again, so you can edit or delete as needed.
You might want to know how to disable Gmail Nudges too.